Leaugue Of Women Voters Returning To Oxford

By MississippI PEP Staff | April 9th, 2017 at 6:42 am

BY: MississippI PEP Staff /

The MS PEP Staff consists of a number of volunteers across the state dedicated to sharing news and commentary important to conservatives.

Filed Under: County Government, Leadership, Mississippi Municipalities, News, Oxford, Principles of Freedom

For almost 20 years, the League of Women Voters worked to increase voter turnout during elections, sponsored candidate forums and held other voter service events from 1964 until the chapter dissolved in 1981.

Now, 36 years later, the League of Women Voters Oxford/North Mississippi is returning to Oxford.

“We have formed a steering committee and have received permission and backing from the League of Women Voters Mississippi to form a provisional chapter,” said president Dianne Fergusson.

The provisional chapter will work for the next year to become an independent chapter.

“We are already accepting members and have almost filled our Executive Committee and Board,” Fergusson said.

The League will be holding its first membership meeting at 6 p.m. Tuesday in the auditorium of the Oxford-Lafayette County Public Library. The guest speaker will be Mayor-elect Robyn Tannehill. The League of Women Voters Mississippi co-presidents, Carolyn Townes and Mary Ann Everette from Ridgeland will be special guests.